

Sláinte Leanaí Éireann (SLÉ), Herberton, Siúlán San Séamas, Rialto, D08 HP97, Éire Children's Health Ireland (CHI), Herberton, St James's Walk, Rialto, D08 HP97 Ireland

Ref: PQ 35351/23

05<sup>th</sup> September 2023

Deputy Michael Ring Dáil Eireann Dublin 2

**Dear Deputy Ring** 

I refer to your below parliamentary question which has been forwarded to me for attention. Firstly, please accept my apologies for the delay in issuing a response.

PQ 35351/23 - To ask the Minister for Health the average waiting time for a child to be assessed by Crumlin Hospital for scoliosis; and if he will make a statement on the matter.

## Children's Health Ireland (CHI) Response:

Thank you for clarifying via email on 17<sup>th</sup> August that for the purpose of this PQ you are seeking the average waiting time for a first outpatient appointment.

Children's Health Ireland (CHI) can advise that the average waiting time for an outpatient appointment at CHI at Crumlin across all categories (Non urgent, semi-urgent and urgent) is 29 Weeks.

All patients are placed on the waiting list in chronological order and are treated firstly on the basis of clinical priority and secondly on the basis of length of wait.

Should a patient's medical condition deteriorate while on the waiting list, contact should be made with their GP for a further assessment and updated information should be sent to the relevant Consultant/Speciality.

Yours sincerely

**Fiona Murphy** 

**Deputy CEO/Operations Director** 

Email: fiona.murphy30@nchg.ie

Our **Mission** is to: Promote and provide child-centred, research-led and learning informed healthcare, to the highest standards of safety and excellence. We will do this in partnership with each other, with children, young people and their families through a network of children's services in Ireland.

CRA Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20202295 Revenue Charitable Status CHY: 22235

**Board Members:** Prof James Browne (Chairman), Mr Con Cronin, Ms Mary Cryan, Prof Martin Elliott, Ms Catherine Guy, Dr Anne Kilgallen, Dr Gavin Lavery, Mr Bernard McLoughlin, Ms Brigid McManus, Ms Eleanor O'Neill, Mr Sean Sheehan